My taxi in to Cape Coast this morning had a small inflated PanAmerican Boeing 747 hanging from the rearview mirror.  I was a little startled to see it and realized that in just five days I would be climbing onto an airplane just like that and returning home.  I am partly relieved that the trip is coming to an end.  It has been exhausting and challenging at every turn.  At the same time, I am really sad to be leaving and already nostalgic about our experiences here and the connections we’ve made with people in Eguafo, particularly with the children.  A few nights ago, I was walking towards the bathroom, completely worn out and ready for some time alone when Ernestina, one of the girls who sleeps at Sankofa Center, called my name.  “Maame Serwaa?”  I was a little more tired, just hearing my name and wondering what she needed from me.  “Maame Serwaa, let’s go learn,” she said.  My frustration and tiredness dissolved instantly.  How could I say no?

The children at Sankofa Center, and many other children we’ve interacted with are truly delightful, resilient and happy.  I do believe that they have a chance to make it, to move up in the world, and to succeed in school.  All seven of us are feeling quite spent, but continue to ask ourselves how else we can give.  A little goes such a long way here, and with children in general.  One evening of reading books or a little special attention means a lot to all of us.

On Thursday morning, we will head back to Accra, where we will fly out of on Friday morning.  In our last five days in Eguafo, we hope to finish setting up the office and forms that we have been working on the past few weeks, and document Sankofa’s monthly operating costs in a detailed way so that we can begin to fundraise at home for the most pressing needs: food, water, and teacher’s salaries.  We will continue our afterschool activities and evening reading time with the children.

In addition to these things, I hope that we, David, and the people in Eguafo will be able to create a sense of closure for our time here.  I hope that on Friday when we board our flight for New York, it will be with the sense that collaboratively, our group, David, the teachers, the board of directors, and the children have accomplished something tangible and made connections that will not disappear when we return home.  I believe that we can do this, and that there is no better week than this upcoming week to seek such a collaboration.  From Ghana, we wish you the most joyful Martin Luther King Day and Inauguration Day!

